85 – YEAR GRANDMA CONQUERS THE KILI IN STYLE.

July 21, 2015 at 9:52 am Leave a comment

anne

“MT Kilimanjaro climbing is a tough task. For one to trek this snow peaked highest mountain in Africa, one has to be physically fit and forbearing. But it is so wonderful when one manages to climb the mountain up to its highest point-the Uhuru Peak (5,895 meters above the sea level),” says Anne Lorimor-85 years old grandma, Arizona native in the United States of America (USA) who climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro to its’ highest peak for the cause!

The grandma is not a sailor. But still she have a right to shout: “Hurrah!” because she managed to reach the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro representing a cause for the oldest people worldwide.

CameraZOOM-20150716113906278

Speaking with the Guardian on Saturday in an exclusive interview this week, Anne explained that, the core aim of the expedition entitled ‘Kili Climb-Challenge Youth Fund (CYF)’ is to raise some funds aiming at helping disadvantaged kids become all that they can be. According to her, she wants them to know their options and be given the hand up they deserve.

As Anne recalls, it was around 07:30 a.m. on July 12, 2015 after a breathtaking 02 and half hour slow walk from Stellar Point that she managed to reach Uhuru Peak, 5,895 meters above sea level. “For some seconds I totally forgot that there were some other people coming along with me, then after some 15 minutes I saw them coming towards me in a second group and it downed on me that they have made it. We all made!”

She recollected that was the culmination of ‘our eight day Mt. Kilimanjaro climb’ through the toughest Rongai Route that to her still seems like a dream. “Reaching Uhuru Peak was a dream come true but the actual climb is a long episode that one need to grow old first to forget,” she noted “I do like the challenge, that’s why I came to scale Mt. Kilimanjaro though I’m old and I very much appreciate myself that I made it to the Uhuru Peak with the ‘great assistance’ from Wilbard Peter Mrima a professional mountain tour Guide with ZARA TANZANIA ADVENTURES..” Ms. Lorimor explained.

According to Ms. Lorimor, she dreamed to scale Mt. Kilimanjaro for a long time because since she was young she used to read in various outlets on the ‘majesty’ of the free standing mountain in Africa – Mt. Kilimanjaro that’s why she decided to climb it this year to prove to the World that ‘Anything is Possible if you like’ and age is just a number!

Explaining her experience on mountain hiking, Ms. Lorimor explains; “In the US I do climb some hills around my neighborhood, and I do remember in 1964 I climbed the Great Pyramids in Egypt. I thank God that I made it to Uhuru Peak after a good assistance from Wilbard Peter Mrima from the ZARA Tanzania Adventures who was very patient with me. He assisted me very much to fulfill my dream, and next year if God wishes I will come to scale again the highest Peak of Africa, Mt. Kilimanjaro…” the old woman explained with tears of joy rolling down her cheeks.

11148475_830211687055065_2178639760627236104_o

“I am about to set a World Record climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro to benefit disadvantaged kids. People say I’m crazy. An 85 years old great grandmother intending to climb the tallest-mountain in Africa? They’re right. I’m crazy to see every child get the hand up they deserve while inspiring seniors and all generations to seek and experience new adventures.” She further pointed out.

She further added that, her goal in funding this climb also has a direct impact on funding her charity for children.

“I have challenged myself to meet some pretty lofty goals, and I challenge followers of this adventure to give a hand up to homeless, foster, orphan and disadvantaged kids through my Challenge Youth Fund which I began 2004 and will leave as my legacy for generations of kids to have opportunities to reach their full potential and, in turn, to make a difference in the world.” She said.

The grandma who is also a member of the CEO SPACE in the USA further explained that when she landed in Moshi, all climbers were lodged at Springlands Hotel located in Pasua area; one of the ZARA Tanzania Adventures facility.

We were introduced to ZARA Tour Guide, Mr. Wilbard Peter Mrima and received detailed briefing on the actual climb, and prepared for the first hiking early next day.

“At dawn on July 5, 2015; we left the hotel in one Zara Adventure minibus for a ride to Rongai Gate. After formalities which including registration for each climber, our expedition started off.

“The first day trek was tough by all measures. Walking the 6 km from Rongai Gate to Simba Camp was beyond my expectation and that of many of my fellow climbers… I arrived totally exhausted. I was in fact feeling ill, wishing to go back and return to USA for good.”

However, the expedition Tour Guide (Mr. Mrima) in fact managed to cajole me to move on during the second and each of the following days. “However the real test came on the 12th July, 2015 when the expedition was summiting. We left from Barafu Camp where we arrived earlier in the afternoon at 10 p.m. to start the most daring climb to Stellar Point and ultimately Uhuru Peak. It was freezing cold and at Barafu winds were blowing crazily.

“The climb was very slow and the chief guide called for constant breathing breaks. I felt my body aching all over, air was thinner and walking with a torch on the forehead was tricky. At times I found myself sleeping but the requirement was to keep on walking ahead and more so above “At dawn our expedition managed to reach Stellar Point, I thought that was it but I was proved wrong. The order came from the chief guide. ‘Climbers should stand up and moved ahead to cover the last 200 meters to Uhuru Peak!

“To say the truth, I don’t believe the remaining distance was really 200 meters, because we walked and walked for over 2 hours. Lucky enough I and my young brother GEORGE ultimately made it.

“I had many people to thank for the feat but much salutes goes to the ZARA Tanzania Adventures staffs particularly Wilbard who throughout the expedition played the role of my guardian father.

CameraZOOM-20150716114026057“The important person was my ‘fellow woman’ Ms. Zainab Ansell, the Managing Director of ZARA Tanzania Adventures who encouraged me so much to fulfill my dream to reach Uhuru Peak (5,895 meters, above sea level)!” Wilbard Mrima, the mountain guide who assisted Ms. Anne Lorimor to reach the summit of the ‘Roof of Africa ‘ said that, generally the expedition was good, though they found some few difficulties on the way due the ‘old age’ of the grandma, but they made it.

CameraZOOM-20150716113743301

The Managing Director of ZARA Tanzania Adventures Ms. Zainab Ansell, congratulated Ms. Anne Lorimor for fulfills her dream of scaling Mt. Kilimanjaro to Uhuru Peak.

Her company she added, has a very talented tour Guides, and has fulfilled her dreams of many ‘disabled’ tourists who made it to the Stellar and Uhuru Summit of Mt. Kilimanjaro under the assistance of her guides.

I’d love for you to visit our website and choose your Challenge…. and/or Email us: zara@zaratours.com | www.zaratours.com | www.zaraproperties.com

About ZARA TOURS
ZARA TOURS, founded in 1987, is currently the No. 1 Kilimanjaro outfitter in Tanzania and one of the largest safari operators in the country. Proud to be known as one of the best operators in the region with a reputation for providing an exceptional, unforgettable and safe experience, ZARA TOURS owns and operates two hotels and four tented camps, has 88 safari and climbing expert guides who speak English, German and Spanish, and a fleet of fully-equipped vehicles that take tourists on safari adventures or treks up Mt. Kilimanjaro. ZARA TOURS also runs ZARA Charity, which plays a vital role.

Source: The Guardian.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Updated Accommodations Enhance Your Safari Experience Plan For The Best Combination Packages for Kilimanjaro Treks, Tanzania Safaris and More

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


