Zara Tours: The Picture of Sustainable Tourism in Action

April 11, 2013 at 2:53 pm Leave a comment

Who among us hasn’t dreamed of taking one of those once-in-a-lifetime African safari trips? If I’m speaking your language, I’d like to share a bit of my own story with you.

Going to Africa has been on my walk-about list for a while now. Luckily for me, a friend of mine has already been there. As I began to think more seriously about making my dream a reality, I knew right where to go.

Satisfying Your Wander-Lust

When I told my friend about my desire to see Africa, she smiled broadly and said, “In that case, I have something to show you.”

Her fingers flew across her laptop as we chatted. It turns out, she had spent the last several months putting together a website that chronicled her trip to Tanzania. What she showed me, blew my mind. The first picture I saw was her standing at the summit of Kilimanjaro. The amazement must have shown on my face because she said, “That’s not even the best part.”

I sat there thinking, how could that not be the best part?! Knowing what I know now, I have to agree with her.

Next, she clicked on a video. It was the team of porters that took her trekking, singing, and dancing. I picked up three words: ‘hakuna’, ‘matata’, and ‘Kilimanjaro’. I thought, OK, that’s much cooler than the Disney version. Now, I don’t know if you’ll believe me, but it got even better.

She showed me pictures of a day she spent volunteering at a local orphanage. The heading said, “Sustainable Tourism in Action.” I looked up from the screen puzzled; here’s what she told me:

Experience an African safari with Zara ToursThe Role you are Meant to Play in the Real Circle of Life

Sustainable Tourism is reshaping the industry as we know it. Things like climbing Kilimanjaro and African safari trips are doing more than creating memories; they are supporting communities and charities at the same time.

For example, that orphanage my friend visited gets 35% of its support from Zara Charity, the non-profit arm of Zara Tours. When you book one of their African safari trips, 10% of the proceeds go to supporting and sustaining the local community. The ultimate goal is to cut down on the negative impact of traditional tourism, contribute to the livelihood and need of others, and preserve what makes Africa beautiful for future generations.  Kind of makes you look at tourism in a whole new way, doesn’t it?

So what if trekking Kilimanjaro isn’t what you had in mind? That’s OK. Visit: www.zaratours.com and look at the different African safari trips offered. There’s something for everyone from the rustic, naturalist campers to the luxuriously accommodated star-gazers. Be sure to read through all the booking instructions so you know when the best time to travel is and when to book ahead. You can even plan to participate in fundraising activities.

I’m saving up for a tour now. I’ll see you under the roof of Africa!

Experience an African safari trip & contribute to a good cause in Zara Charity

Entry filed under: African Safari, African Safari Tours, African Safari Trips, Zara Charity. Tags: , , , .

Ngorongoro Run: The Race Takes Place on the 7th Wonder of the World A Big Thank You From Zara Charity & Zara Tours

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


